Ordnance Survey maps of the area indicate that there were two schools in Gartmore in the mid 19th century. There has been State primary education in the village for about 150 years and the present school building dates from the time of the Disruption of 1843. The school is shown on the Ordnance Survey map of 1862 as a single rectangular structure and a second classroom was added in 1875. The Education Act of 1872 stipulated that a register of pupils and a log-book of events and attendances be kept. From these a fascinating account of early village school life emerges.
was careful preparation for the annual inspection on which the revenue
of the school and salary of the staff depended. Diseases swept through
the school resulting occasionally in the death of a pupil. The log book
also refers to extremes of weather leading to damaged roofs, blocked
roads, absenteeism and frozen ink! The Graham and Cayzer families of
Gartmore House were generous to the school with gifts as varied as
strawberries, tennis balls and an annual Christmas Tree complete with a
present for each pupil.
the outbreak of the Second World War in 1939, 315 children were
evacuated to Gartmore and the school roll rose from 32 to 171. After a
few weeks many children returned to their homes and the school roll
dropped steadily until 1967, when there were 25 pupils and one teacher.
In 1979 two mobile classrooms were erected in the playground following
the demolition of the corrugated-iron dining room. The refurbishment of
the old school building commenced in 1994 to provide additional
accommodation and new classrooms for children of primary school age.
Children attending secondary school travel by bus, some to McLaren High School in Callander, 12 miles away others to Balfron High School, 8 miles away.